Training, to plan or….

Whenever people go in for these kind of things they tend to think they must build a training plan. Not usually my style..
I’ve previously treated training plans in much the same way I treated revision plans at school. For me creating one is a displacement activity, taking up huge amounts of time making grids like this

that aint gonna happen

when I know I will pay no attention at all. So previously preparation for a trek has been something like

5 weeks to go: Think about cutting down on the booze a bit
4 weeks to go: Go for a weekend in the Lakes / Snowdonia, spend first half hour going bright red thinking I’m going to keel over, then find my stride. Climb one small objective and feel overly pleased with myself. Undo all the good work by getting slaughtered to celebrate
3 weeks to go: Think about cutting down on the booze a bit. Again
2 weeks to go: Pack the rucksack, walk up and down the stairs once or twice to check the weight, take a few things out feeling a bit out of breath
1 Week to go: Re-pack the rucksack, walk up and down the stairs two or three times and think, that’ll be OK
1 day to go: Go out for a few ‘good luck’ drinks with friends. Get slaughtered

So far I’ve gotten away with this approach, but I need to do a little more this time. Another couple of extra years and many more miles on the clock have taken their toll, so I do need to get fit.

Still won’t do a training plan though.

Leave a Reply

